arrow-rightBack to Stories
2023 Summer Internship Information Session Held on Nov. 28

Applications are now open for the 2023 summer internship program! Sealaska hosted a virtual internship information session on Nov. 28 to help prospective interns and their families learn more about exciting internship opportunities offered next summer at Sealaska and partner organizations.  

Shareholder Development Program Manager Kayla Roberts provided information about the internship program, types of internships available and the benefits of participating in Sealaska’s internship program. Other information provided during the one-hour session included: 

  • Eligibility requirements 
  • Program timeline 
  • How the application process works
  • Externships with organizations outside the #OneSealaska network 

Guest speakers included Sr. Director of Shareholder Development Tesla Cox, former intern Barbara Belk and Sabina Rajasundaram, the founder and CEO of Codefy.  

Codefy is a new training and internship program offered by Sealaska. Sealaska has partnered with Codefy to empower young shareholders and descendants with the skills needed to succeed in high-demand technology careers – without a college education. This program specifically targets rural shareholders and descendants that are not currently pursuing college.  

The event closed with a call to action for family members of students: urge them to apply for the internship program! 

“The best ways that our opportunities get shared is through the aunties and the uncles, the moms and the cousins,” said Cox. “That’s how I started my first internship – my auntie calling me up and saying, ‘Hey, come do this opportunity, it’s perfect for you.’ I really encourage you all to pass on information on these opportunities.”  

To learn more and apply for the Sealaska Codefy partnership program, visit    

To apply for Sealaska’s 2023 internship program, please visit  

Door prize winners were randomly selected from participants who completed the post-event survey. Payment will be sent to winners in the same way they receive distribution payments. The winners are:  

  • Daniel Goheen – $100 cash
  • Kyle Blackhorse – $100 cash
  • Mitchell Howard – $100 cash